Usage Guide - Operating System


Normalized data in CyberSecurity Asset Management (CSAM) has operating systems categorized based on an internally developed classification/ categorization system.

It follows a two-level classification system – namely Level 1 Category and Level 2 Category

- Level 1 Category: Indicates the operating system family.

- Level 2 Category: Indicates whether the operating system is for client, server or virtualized environments.


a) "Apple macOS High Sierra" → Mac / Client →  Level 1: Mac, Level 2: Client

b) "VMware ESXi" → Virtualization / Hypervisor Type-1 (Bare Metal) → Level 1: Virtualization, Level 2: Hypervisor Type-1 (Bare Metal)

There are currently 13 Level 1 categories and 5 Level 2 categories for classifying operating systems.


Developer/Publisher or current owner of the Operating System. Example: Apple, Microsoft


Name of the Operating System.

Market Version

Name, number or any value assigned to the major release of the installed OS.


a) Microsoft Windows Server 2019 Standard 10.0.19541 - Market Version: 2019

b) Apple macOS Mojave - Market Version: Mojave

c) Microsoft Windows 7 - Market Version: 7


The major and minor version of the product


The service pack number, update, maintenance release etc. of the product


Determines if the installed OS belongs to any particular edition that is defined by the publisher


Microsoft Windows 10 is distributed under below editions:

- Enterprise

- Pro

- Home etc.